top of page
Untitled design (32)_edited.png

About us

McAdam Architects is an architectural practice, established by Tanya Kalinina and James McAdam in 2002.

The practice has experience on a diverse range of projects including - private houses and apartments, refurbishments and conversions, residential settlements, office buildings and interiors, retail centres, arts and cultural buildings, and large scale urban planning.

Our studio is based in London but we work without geographical limit. To-date we have completed projects in the UK, Russia, France and Israel.

The focus is on creating long-term value through high quality well-worked design solutions, with emphasis on providing thoughtful architecture and on pushing the boundaries of design and planning.

We enjoy interesting and complicated requirements and locations – from refurbishment and conversion of existing buildings to complex urban infill sites and city-scale development plans.

The partners are involved in teaching and seminars, debate and discourse, initiatives and other professional activities around architecture.

In 2014 both of the partners completed PhDs on the Practice Research Program at RMIT University.

Biography of Tanya Kalinina

Biography of James McAdam


Colleagues and employees involved with the practice, past and present, who have contributed to the architecture and resultant body of works.

Alan Dunsmore, Alexander Kalachev, Alexandra King, Angela Kouklaki, Anke Mueller, Anke Zalivako, Anton Barklansky, Anton Khmelnitsky , Aranzazu Melon, Bianca von Geyr, Brian Emery, Bronwyn Mackenzie, Clare Williamson, Daniil Lorenz, Duncan Macaulay, Edward Lloyd, Egor Volynov, Heide Mehring, Ian Pentland, Ilia Mouline, Ilia Zalivoukhin, Inna Uzhakina, Irina Loktionova, Jan Peichula, Julia Namestnikova, Kiril Asse, Larisa Semenchenko, Lina Keorber, Louise Mulcahy, Lucas Dowsett, Marina Yarmarkina, Mathilde Lecomte, Michael Eichner, Nikolas Japaridze, Oksana Sidorenko, Olga Scobeleva, Polina Strukova, Richard Bonneville, Roman Bessarab, Stephen Horan, Steve Fox, Svetlana Savinkova, Thomas Freidl, Vitaliy Kapustin, Yael Wide, Yanire Silva Delgado

bottom of page